A Ferry Trip to the Mall


KL Monorail, elevated traversing.
KL Monorail, elevated traversing.

I went to The Mines last month because it is the only venue in Malaysia where the renowned Big Bad Wolf book fair is held every year. Well, since the past 2 years that I’ve been here actually. I enjoyed the jaunt so much  and I’d love to go back there again because of two things.

First, I love riding the monorail! For an engineering dummy, this ride has captured the youngster in me. I hated the tummy twirling coaster rides in theme parks although the slightly tilting monorail gives a twitch that my stomach can bear, but I can’t help the tingling sensation on my feet when it leans on a turning point. This urban transport was opened 11 years ago, on 31st of August 2003. It was a multi-million project built by KL Infrastructure Group the first Malaysian company to achieve such a huge project in South East Asia. Today, RapidKL operates the KL Monorail ,  a government subsidiary company that oversees the public transport infrastructure in Malaysia. They did an impressive transport system that helped a lot in the  city’s traffic management. It was an eye-opening experience for someone like me whose country’s transport system is in complete disorder.

Docked inside the Mall's wharf.
Docked inside the Mall’s wharf.

Second, from the monorail station there’s a ferry that carries shoppers to the mall. It’s a short trip but the fact that this mall have a tiny wharf inside is quite interesting. And so I went en route to The Mines shopping mall on-board the 20-seat ferry and like a kid with utter excitement, I was so delighted to see the swans afloat in the lake! It was the first time for me to see a real swan. All the while, I suspected that this graceful creäture is on the verge of extinction as the earth is turning into a digital world. I’m so happy I was wrong.

The Mines Shopping mall is located at the former largest open-pit tin site of the world, south of the Federal District of Kuala Lumpur in Seri KembanganSelangor. It is a complete recreational and tourism area spanned with hotels, spa, business parks, a convention center, and a golf club. The transformation of this mine into a Wellness City is part of the government’s Economic Transformation Plan under the Prime Minister’s authority.

Arriving at the mall, I didn’t let the boat crew stop me from taking a photo after it was quickly moored at the tiny docking platform. It was a very refreshing ride. The smell of the lake water breeze and the placid waters of the lake made an unperturbed expression to my phlegmatic soul. I dearly love the ecosystem and to me the city sends a hidden message to the public; our natural resources can co-exist with human in this modern,technologically hyped era .

My tour guide, who was so excited to get on-board.
My tour guide, who was so excited to be on-board.
The Mines Resort City entrance leading to the ferry's docking platform.
The Mines Resort City entrance leading to the ferry’s docking platform.
Mall wharf
The mall wharf
2 thoughts on “A Ferry Trip to the Mall

  1. Awesome content you post here! You can earn some extra money from your page, don’t miss this opportunity, for more details simply type in google
    – omgeridos tips monetize website

  2. Awesome content you got here! You can earn some extra $$$ from your website, don’t miss this
    opportunity, for more details just search in google – omgeridos tips monetize website

Leave a Reply

